Friday, September 21, 2012

Piotr Lemanczyk - Follow The Soul (2003) by Adam Baruch

Piotr Lemanczyk - acoustic bass

Janusz Muniak - tenor saxophone
Przemek Dyakowski - tenor saxophone
Wojciech Staroniewicz - tenor saxophone
Maciej Sikala - tenor saxophone
Dariusz Herbasz - tenor saxophone
Maciej Grzywacz - guitar
Dominik Bukowski - vibraphone
Tomasz Sowiñski - drums

Follow The Soul (2003)

This is the debut album as a leader by Polish Jazz bassist / composer Piotr Lemanczyk. It was recorded by several different lineups, mostly quartets, with the following participants: saxophonists Janusz Muniak, Przemek Dyakowski, Wojciech Staroniewicz, Maciej Sikala and Dariusz Herbasz, guitarist Maciej Grzywacz, vibraphonist Dominik Bukowski and drummer Tomasz Sowinski. Of the seven tracks on the album, six are original compositions by Lemanczyk and one is a standard.

The music is kept well within the modern Jazz mainstream, but the excellent compositions and performances create a superb piece of Jazz music, which should satisfy every sensitive listener. The use of the vibraphone instead of the usual piano gives the entire recording a "cool" ambience, which suits the music perfectly. The leader gets several solo spots, which emphasize his beautiful tone and sensitivity, rather than needless pyrotechnics.

As usual with Polish Jazz albums, the music is the center of the attention, in spite of the truly excellent playing, which is beyond reproach from start to finish. The melodic content and the rhythmic structures are simply incredible and a source of real joy.

Overall this album is a perfect example of what mainstream Jazz is all about and should be greatly enjoyed by any Jazz connoisseur anywhere in the world. Highly recommended!

By Adam Baruch

Tracklisting: 1. Virga 2. Shy king of the village 3. Take 74 4. You don't know what love is 5. White lake 6. My little M. 7. Blues for Aga

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...