Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Alber-Strobel – Duet Gitar Klasycznych (Polish Jazz Vol.86 Deluxe, 1981)

Alber-Strobel (duo)

Henryk Alber - guitar
Janusz Strobel - guitar

Henryk Alber & Janusz Strobel (Polish Jazz Vol.85 Deluxe, 1972)

This is the second album by Polish acoustic guitar duo Alber-Strobel with guitarists / composers Henryk Alber and Janusz Strobel recorded a decade after their debut. Years of experience playing together and the process of growing up turned them into a formidable musical unit and this album, although quite similar in spirit to their debut, is much more tight, elaborate and simply brilliant. The material is mostly original on this album, again in contrast to the debut, which was mostly Brazilian music. The duo was quite an unusual phenomenon on the Polish Jazz scene, as they opted for playing in the intimate duet format and completely acoustically, whereas most guitarists opted of course for the electric version of the instrument. They played a mixture of original compositions and well known, mostly Brazilian pieces, composed by the best Brazilian composers. The elaborate arrangements and obvious virtuosic performances make this album an obvious choice for listeners, who love the acoustic guitar and South American flavor in music. Although only marginally Jazz per se, the element of improvisation is very strongly present here and it is one of the best examples of Polish Jazz-World Fusion. Definitely worth investigation and a must for guitar lovers!

Track listing:
1. Po piątej / After Five - Poobiednia drzemka / Afternoon Nap - Po trzeciej / After Three 8'38"
2. Mambo'68 2'26"
3. How Insensitive 5'10"
4. Na chodzie / In Good Condition 2'15"
5. Zdarzyło mi się coś takiego / Something Happened To Me 3'25"
6. Jestem przypadkiem / Incidentally I Am 5'16"
7. W środku ważnych dat / Amidst Important Dates 3'46"
8. Impresje barowe / Impressions From Night Club 6'07"

By Adam Baruch

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...