Thursday, March 1, 2012

Maciej Fortuna Trio - Solar Ring (2012) by Maciej Nowotny

Maciej Fortuna - trumpet

Piotr Lemanczyk - acoustic bass
Frank Parker - drums

Solar Ring (2012)

Maciej Fortuna is still young trumpeter who is making progress with every consecutive album. After modest beginnings (check 'In The Small Hours' (2009), he recorded promising 'Lost Keys" (2010) and is now confirming his talent with 'Solar Ring'. From 'Lost Keys' he kept American drummer Frank Parker and added Piotr Lemańczyk who is one of the most convincing double bass players on Polish scene. It is therefore no surprise that music is brilliantly performed: deep, spacious and resonant it succeeds in keeping one's attention focused from the beginning to the end of the recording.  Majority of tunes were composed by the leader with Lemańczyk adding (as author and co-author) three and Parker one. These tunes are strong side of album: diversified, melodious yet sophisticated enough to give opportunity to musicians to display collective interplay and individual virtuosity. Finally, let me confess that although I appreciate this music I was expecting from talented Mr Fortuna some divergence from so well-trodden path of mainstream jazz. When compared to best young trumpeters in the world like Ambrose Akinmusire, Taylor Ho Bynum or Thomas Haberer this album sounds a bit too conservative and schematical.

Track listing: 1. Resume 5:35 (M. Fortuna); 2. Lobster Baby 4:40 (P. Lemańczyk); 3. Eternal 5:30 (M. Fortuna); 4. For the Old Friend 7:47 (M. Fortuna); 5. Home Pictures 7:46 (P. Lemańczyk); 6. G.r.o.o. 4:46 (M. Fortuna); 7. Sal 1:34 (P. Lemańczyk, F. Parker); 8. Solar Ring 4:40 (M. Fortuna); 9. Tryptyk 6:49 (M. Fortuna)

By Maciej Nowotny

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...