Friday, March 2, 2012

Maciej Garbowski - Elements (2012) by Maciej Nowotny

Maciej Garbowski – bass

Piotr Damasiewicz – trumpet
Jon Falt – drums

Elements (2012)

"Music in the "Elements' is one suite, a collection of musical metaphors in which fragments of various music appear in vaguely determined moments. I refer here to my and Piotr Piotr Damasiewicz's compositions which exist independent of each other in the course of time. 'Elements' is a combination of particles into a coherent matter and these particles integrate into entire collages. The effect here is the result of equal effort of each of the musicians, with volatility of tensions between them felt - without definite repeated patterns. Polyrhythms, polytempos, polytonality, inversions." 

These few few words by the lider of this trio Maciej Garbowski quite well describe what was intention of artists behind this music. Maciej Garbowski himself, though young, is already very succesful on Polish scene: part of great cool jazz trio RGG and member of band of very promising young altoist Maciej Obara.  Trumpeter Piotr Damasiewicz is much less known but it is himself who focuses most of the listener attention on this album. His play on trumpet is free, open and creative making him the musician that should make big careeer in next few years. Finally young Swedish drummer Jon Falt who already managed to play with Bobo Stenson on regular basis. 

As for music it is all such a heart as mine devoted to jazz (understood as music of freedom) can desire: brave, open, daring. Certainly one feels that it is debut recording since its level is not entirely consistent: there are moments of absolute glory and those when nothing happens. But overall direction is correct and since Maciej Garbowski announced this album as just first edition of his International Musical Project "bringing together musicians representing various musical cultures", I am sure we will hear even more interesting sounds from this artist in future... 

Track listing: 1. Tellus 5:58; 2. Oceanus 2:43; 3. Ventus 10:38; 4. Ignis 7:07; 5. Sonus 7:41; 6. Vitae 7:55

By Maciej Nowotny

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...