Tuesday, February 28, 2012

NOVI – Rien Ne Va Plus (Polish Jazz Extended vol..82, 1973)

NOVI Singers (band)

Ewa Wanat - vocals
Bernard Kawka - vocals
Janusz Mych - vocals
Waldemar Parzyński - vocals


Zbigniew Namysłowski - alto sax
Janusz Muniak - alto & tenor sax
Tomasz Szukalski - tenor sax
Waldemar Kurpiński - baritone sax
Stanisław Cieślak - trombone
Stanisław Mizeracki - trumpet
Tomasz Stańko - trumpet
Włodzimierz Nahorny - piano
Marek Bliziński - guitar
Wojciech Bruślik - bass guitar
Janusz Stefański - drums
Tadeusz Szostak - trumpet (6, 10)
Paweł Jarzębski - bass guitar (6, 10)
Kazimierz Jonkisz - drums (6, 10)
Jan Ptaszyn Wróblewski - conductor 

Rien Ne Va Plus (1973)

This is the 4th album by the sensational Polish vocal quartet NOVI, which was one of the greatest Polish Jazz acts in the 1970s. Continuing the tradition of Jazz vocal groups like the French Les Double Six and Swingle Singers, NOVI expanded the borders further on into more experimental areas and used more instrumental backing, provided the best Polish Jazz musicians at the time. The quartet was led by singer / arranger / composer Bernard Kawka and included also the incredible female vocalist Ewa Wanat and two additional male vocalists Janusz Mych and Waldemar Parzynski. Together they created beautiful vocal harmonies of exceptional sophistication and unique style, unparalleled to this day. The performed a mixture of original material, mostly composed by Kawka, and standards or contemporary Pop material, but the incredible arrangements turned everything into a distinctive NOVI vocal signature. On this specific album they are accompanied by an all-star band, led by saxophonist Jan Ptaszyn Wroblewski, which includes such luminaries as saxophonists Zbigniew Namyslowski, Janusz Muniak and Tomasz Szukalski, trumpeter Tomasz Stanko, guitarist Marek Blizinski, pianist Wlodzimierz Nahorny, drummer Janusz Stefanski and many others. This is definitely one of the climax moments of the Polish Jazz in the 1970s and an absolute must for every vocal jazz connoisseur!

Side Note: This is one of those Polish Jazz albums, released by the Polskie Nagrania / Muza label, which should have been released as part of the "Polish Jazz" series at the time, but somehow never made it. From the historic perspective it definitely belongs to be a part of that series and this was partially corrected by this edition, as it is one of the items in the expanded "Polish Jazz Deluxe" series of reissues.

Track listing: 1. Oh Woman (W. Parzyński - A. Więcko) [04:05]; 2. The Look Of Love (B. Bacharach - H. David) [04:02]; 3. My Own Revolution (B. Kawka - A. Więcko) [04:26]; 4. The Fool On The Hill (J. Lennon - M. McCartney) [04:37]; 5. Second Sight (B. Kawka) [04:34]; 6. Blue Moon (R. Rodgers - L. Hart) [03:25]; 7. Like A Dream In The Sky (B. Kawka - A. Więcko) [06:01]; 8. Rien Ne Va Plus (B. Kawka - A. Więcko) [04:08]; 9. Canto Triste (E. Labo - Eng., Hall) [04:00]; 10. Introduction (Z. Namysłowski)

By Adam Baruch

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...