Saturday, February 18, 2012

Simple Acoustic Trio – Lullaby For Rosemary (Not Two, 2001)

Simple Acoustic Trio (band)

Marcin Wasilewski - piano
Sławomir Kurkiewicz - double-bass
Michał Miśkiewicz - drums

Lullaby For Rosemary (Not Two, 2001)

This is a reissue of the debut album, originally entitled "Komeda", by the superb Polish Jazz trio called Simple Acoustic Trio, which consists of pianist Marcin Wasilewski, bassist Slawomir Kurkiewicz and drummer Michal Miskiewicz. This edition includes a bonus track not present on the original release, which is a live recording at the Polish Radio. In retrospect recording a debut album with Komeda's music might have been slightly overreaching, since Komeda's intricate compositions require sensitivity and experience well beyond the age of these musician at the time this album was recorded. Nevertheless they stood up to the challenge admirably, which proved that they were surely not "another" piano trio, but a formidable unit destined for greatness, which of course did materialize later. The bonus track gives a nice point of reference between the original music recorded six years earlier and the trio's abilities at a later stage. In short this is a brilliant piano trio album worthy of an honorable place in any serious record collection and a must for any Polish / European Jazz fan. For more information read my comments on the original album. Superb stuff!

1. Svantetic; 2. Ballad for Bernt; 3. Cherry; 4. Moja Ballada; 5. Astigmatic; 6. Kołysanka; 7. Kattorna; 8.  Sleep Safe and Warm; 9. Moja Ballada

By Adam Baruch

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...