Saturday, December 22, 2012

Staroniewicz, Jagodziński, Rajski - Tranquillo (Allegro Records, 2012)

Staroniewicz, Jagodziński, Rajski - Tranquillo

Wojciech Staroniewicz - tenor saxophone
Adam Cegielski - bass
Czesław "Mały" Bartkowski - drums

Polish Chamber Orchestra Sopot led by Wojciech Rajski

Arrangements: Włodzimierz Nahorny, Andrzej Jagodziński and Artur Jurek

Tranquillo (Allegro Records, 2012)

By Maciej Nowotny

Wojciech Staroniewicz over a last decade with series of interesting albums like "Karambola" (1999), "Handmade" (2002), "Conversession" (2006), "Alternations" (2008) and "Afreakan Project" (2011), has established himself as an important voice in mainstream jazz in Tri-City region. This project, very aptly titled "Tranquillo", brings to us music that is perhaps the least surprising of all his up-to-date releases. It comprises standards like "The Girl from Ipanema", "Sophisticated Lady" or "Autumn Leaves" and it features only two new compositions both penned by Staroniewicz which however do not change the overall impression of musicians visiting a well known and old turf. All these tunes are arranged in such a way that jazz musicians that is Wojtek Staroniewicz on saxophone, Adam Cegielski on bass and Czesław Bartkowski on drums are supported by strings of Sopot Chamber Orchestra led by Wojciech Rajski. These arrangements are written by Włodzimierz Nahorny, Andrzej Jagodziński i Artur Jurek and are easy-to-listen, light-hearted and dancelike. And such is this music: nothing serious, deep, grave, spiritual. It is rather an expression of pure joy of music making with old friends in tradition of typical for Polish Jazz combination of jazz, classical and pop music. The long list of records by old masters like Jan Ptaszyn Wróblewski (check "Sweat Beat") and Jerzy Milian or recently Krzysztof Herdzin and Włodek Pawlik may be recalled here to support such a point of view. Yet regardless that we are already well acquainted with such a concept of music making I must confess that it is accomplished in such a simple, unpretentious and warm manner that I cannot stop to listen and enjoy it...

1. Among the Monks 5:25
2. The Girl from Ipanema 5:12
3. Black Narcissus 4:13
4. Sophisticated Lady 5:23
5. Ja w kapeluszu 6:54
6. Duke of Iron 5:00
7. Favela 4:02
8. Gentle Rain 5:54
9. Autumn Leaves 5:15
10. Corcovado 3:46
11. Adeus 3:32

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...