Sunday, November 4, 2012

Pawel Gusnar - Saxophone Impressions (2012)

Paweł Gusnar

Pawel Gusnar - saxophone soprano & alto
Philharmonique de chambre Witold Lutoslawski
Jan Milosz Zarzycki - direction

Saxophone Impressions (2012)

By Maciej Nowotny

To be entirely honest this record rather does not belong on this blog dedicated to jazz. Because its language is entirely from classical music in its romantic version. But I decided to bend some rules and describe it here because it comprises several jazz standards by George Gershwin. Additionally tracklists consists of few Chopin compositions (BTW very well arranged by Krzysztof Herdzin), two tunes by Astor Piazzola and two by Italian giants of film music: Ennio Morricone and Nino Rota respectively. 

I need not to say  that these compositions are truly pearls but what is more important they are arranged and played here in astonishing way. The control over the sound, its perfection, its depth, its beauty is unsurpassed. Sure it is light years away from jazz spontaineity, expressivness and freedom. But it simply achieves the same effect through other means. The effect of sparkling listener's emotion, of transcending the meanness of daily life which is a landmark of any real art...

Fryderyk Chopin, Krzysztof Herdzin: Homage A Chopin
1. Preludium A-dur op. 28 nr 7 - Adagietto
2. Etiuda f-moll op. 25 nr 2 - Presto, Quasi "Walc wiedeński"
3. Etiuda E-dur op. 10 nr 3 - Lento Ma Non Troppo
4. Walc As-dur op. 64 nr 3 - Andante Cantabile, Dedicated To Eric Satie
5. Etiuda Ges-dur op. 25 nr 9 - Vivace E Leggiero
6. Astor Piazzolla: Tango Ballet (arr. Paweł Gusnar) - Titulos, La calle, Encuentro - Olvido, Cabaret, Soledad, L calle
7. George Gershwin: Porgy & Bess (arr. Ryszard Borowski, Paweł Gusnar) - Introduction, Summertime, A Woman Is A Sometime Thing, My Man's Gone Now, I Got Plenty O'Nutting, It Ain't Necessarily So, Bess, You Is My Woman Now, Serena's Prayer, There Is A Boat, I'm On My Way
8. Astor Piazzolla: Oblivion (arr. Paweł Gusnar)
9. Ennio & Andreas Morricone: Intro Paradiso (arr. Tomasz Szymuś)
10. Nino Rota: Romeo & Julia (arr. Tomasz Szymuś)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...